Keeping up with the ongoing burger craze in New York, Tall Grass burger shone its light on the burger addled scene recently in the East Village. Owner Kevin Huynh is no stranger to the restaurant business, having run several Quantum Leap outlets in the city. Yes… That’s right! I said Quantum Leap–the city’s well-known den of vegetarian fodder. Huynh traitorously switched to the dark side of the trade, by slinging out various carnivore favored sandwiches including 6 grass-fed burgers, a turkey burger and flame-grilled chicken versions. Tall Grass Burger is a modern, clean and simple burger shop, complete with friendly staffs that are clearly learning the ropes in the burger world. With counter service and a help-yourself condiment station, Tall Grass serves up colorful names to label their beefy delights. I asked one the staffers, “What should I order? ” After initially a blank face expression, I got the nod to go with the signature Tall Grass, which was generously stacked with crispy onion rings, sliced avocado, cheddar cheese and fiery horseradish mustard.
 
 
  I found out about the Tall Grass Burger from The NYC Food Guy, which he reported on, and he was then featured on Eater . He stated that, “Tall Grass Burger was doing a buy one-get one 50% off deal”. I snatched up the chance to take advantage of this thrifty opportunity, and get burgered East Village style. Tall Grass has a small dining room with counter tables and perched window seats, where I gazed overlooking the yellow chariots whizzing by on a balmy New York afternoon. I was treated to an array of fried potatoes, which was overzealously forced upon me, by one of Huynh’s staffers. As I waited for my “Classic and Tall Grass” burgers I tasted the fries which were speckled with little crystals of garlic that burst onto the buds with every bite-which unfortunately was over powering.
 
 
 
 
The burgers arrived, and I was impressed with freshness of the pickles, onion, and fronds of lettuce splashed on the paper lined baskets that were the vehicle for my burger tasting. An oozing of horseradish mustard cascaded down the side of the soft bun, which had been griddle pressed to perfection from the top, leaving a toasted char on the roof of the sandwich. The scent of toasted sesame instantly hit the nose, followed by a juicy but season less patty. For the Tall Grass burger, the flavor was accented by excellent horseradish mustard which was the highlight- the burger meat itself lacked depth and finished in my mouth as a nonchalant memory. I’m sure a less than fanatic burger adventurer would find some solace and satisfaction in this deli mimicked nosh, but for me- Tall Grass was a “short order”.

 


Tall Grass Burgers on Urbanspoon


Share/Bookmark

Comments

Leave a Reply

